Sharing Your MacBook with Others
Abstract
A user account is a group of settings that controls what a user can do in macOS. By creating a separate user account for each person who uses the readers' MacBook regularly, they enable users to have their own folders for files and to use the settings they prefer. As well as letting any user log in individually from the login screen, macOS includes a feature called Fast User Switching that enables multiple users to remain logged in to their MacBook at the same time. With Fast User Switching enabled, multiple users can remain logged in to macOS on their MacBook. The Family Sharing feature lets the readers' share purchases from the iTunes Store, the App Store, and the Apple Books service with their family members. The Screen Time feature in macOS, iOS, and iPadOS enables them to track how much time a person spends using their devices.
Fields of Study & Subjects
User Authentication and Security Systems
Personal Information Management and User Behavior
Usability and User Interface Design
Publication details
- Pages
- 72–93
- Publication date
- 30 January 2026
- Language
- EN